Region 6 Delegates Elect New President, Set Budget, Freeze Dues

On Saturday, May 20, the 42 delegates at the 2017 WEAC Region 6 Representative Assembly in Madison determined the region’s budget and membership dues for 2017-18, passed a new business item to institute a union leadership mentoring program, and elected a new Region 6 president, treasurer, and four zone representatives.

WEAC Region 6, consisting of more than 80 local education employee unions throughout southern and southwestern Wisconsin, provides elected leadership and professional assistance that local leaders and members use for community organizing, local advocacy, professional development, member representation, legal advice and collective bargaining. All of this together helps the members of Region 6 maximize their potential in their classrooms and their students’ learning opportunities.

Region 6’s next president will be Kirah Zeilinger, a four-year-old-kindergarten teacher in Beloit and member of the Beloit Education Association. Zeilinger will assume the presidency of the region this summer, when the term of founding President Mark Lindsey expires. Lindsey, an Oregon High School social studies teacher, served as president for the region’s first three years after also serving as the director of the organization’s transition from four smaller organizations to one large region of more than 4,000 union members. Zeilinger has served as the Region 6 treasurer since its inception in 2014.

The RA delegates also elected Meredith Smith from the Belleville Education Association its next treasurer, and elected four zone representatives: Tracey Leider from the Oregon Education Association; Denise Engstrom, Fort Atkinson Education Association; John Buslaff, Fennimore Education Association; and Justin Kamp, Milton Education Association.

The delegates heard a keynote address from U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin campaign manager Scott Spector, and reports from the directors of the Region 6 membership, communications, professional development, finance and constitution and bylaw committees.

The delegates voted to freeze the Region 6 annual dues at $277, and annual Political Action Committee dues at $5.